Korean Holidays 2021

Below is a list of the 2021 holidays in Korea. We invite you to download the 2021 Korean Holiday Calendar in PDF format – HERE

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Fri New Year’s Day
11 -13 Feb Thu to Sat Seollal / Korean New Year
1 Mar Mon March 1st Movement Day
1 May Sat Labor Day (Business Sector Only)
5 May Wed Children’s Day
15 May Sat Teacher’s Day
19 May Wed Buddha’s Birthday
6 Jun Sun Memorial Day
15 Aug Sun Liberation Day
20-22 Sep Mon to Wed Chuseok / Thanksgiving
3 Oct Sun National Foundation Day
9 Oct Sat Korean Alphabet Day
25 Dec Sat Christmas Day

Korean Holidays

Here is a short summary of the main and most important holidays in Korea:

Seollal / Korean New Year

Seollal is one of the most important traditional Korean holidays as it celebrates the beginning of the Korean New Year.

Korean New Year generally occurs in January or February on the second new moon after the winter solstice, and typically falls on the same day as Chinese New Year.

Chuseok – Korean Thanksgiving

Chuseok, literally “Autumn eve”, is a major harvest festival and a three-day holiday in both North- and South Korea celebrated on the 15th day of the 8th month of the lunar calendar on the full moon.